What Gets You Up in the Morning?

September 18, 2012 — 9 Comments


Most of us have responsibilities. This morning I got up to drive a school bus. It started as a way to easily go to my kids’ school activities, and I also happen to like kids. But driving a school bus doesn’t make me eager to get out of bed. It’s not my passion. And passions are what I want to talk about here.

What is your passion? What satisfies you? Do you know? I didn’t know for a long time, and now I’m beginning to figure it out. This place is an exploration of how someone goes about discovering a passion and then pursuing it. Come along with me, and maybe you will begin to realize your passion or realize it again.

I want to explore what inflames our desires and what quenches them. I also want to speak to those who have pursued a passion whether successful, still in process, or a failure. There is something to be learned from all of it, and I’m making it my business to find out.

And no, I’m not selling anything. It’s just more fun to do this with others.

© Photograph by Jon Helgason | Agency: Dreamstime.com

9 responses to What Gets You Up in the Morning?

  1. 

    Passions … so many. It’s the fabric of life.

  2. 

    Glad I came across your blog! What has always been my passion is everything motion picture and music, that hasn’t changed since sneaking into my brother’s room to hear his U2 album or seeing E.T. for the first time. But a lot has changed since having kids, they satisfy me in a way I never thought possible. Never really cared for children not to mention having them myself. Other that that I’m not sure, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the matter! Karina

  3. 

    So many paths to passion and within it! The journey alone will be interesting, but where ever it leads might redefine interesting too :) I’m right there with you. Go girl!

  4. 

    Congratulations for your new blog. :-)

  5. 

    Yay, I’m so excited! You’ve always seemed to me like a very passionate person, so I can’t wait to read more :)
    I don’t know what my passions are, don’t really have huge dreams, and yes, now that I write that downo pity myself a bit, so lead the way my Dear :)

  6. 

    What a lovely, spiffy new place this is! Congrats!

  7. 

    I’ll be really curious as you explore this entire concept, “What is Your Passion?” I’ve hit a mid-point in life where I’ve ridden my passion like a child drags around a favorite blanket: It’s still loved but very torn and tattered now. What do you do with a passion when it is no longer the same bright shiny object that it was two decades ago?

    I love that you came up with this idea, and I ESPECIALLY love that your blog backdrop is a ZIPLINE! WHOO HOOOOOOOOOOO! That’s on my Bucket List: Zip lining in Costa Rica.

    You rock.

  8. 

    I am thrilled to see you venture into this new blog and the new season in your life!! My passion is capture every moment that God sets before me; to enjoy it and to give Him all the glory!!

    I have to echo Heidi’s sentiments…….YOU GO Girl!!!!

  9. 

    Thanks, everyone! I want us all to have some fun. So I hope you stick around for that.

Your Thoughts?

